The third model of the 2021 Ram 1500 Built to Serve Edition comes with aeronautical-inspired features.

Fiat Chrysler’s Ram brand rolled out the latest edition of its “Built to Serve” full-size pickups, this iteration aimed at honoring the U.S. Air Force.

The company has already produced two earlier models in tribute to the Army and Navy. Those two debuted in June and last November. Ram’s third installment offers an aeronautical-inspired theme with both Anvil and Billet Silver exterior colors offered along with a black interior with Light Diesel Gray accent stitching.

“Ram continues to honor all of those who serve or have served in the United States armed forces with distinction through our latest ‘Built to Serve’ offering,” said Mike Koval Jr., head of Ram Brand, FCA – North America. “The ‘Built to Serve’ adage is something Ram truck owners, whether civilian or military, are very familiar with as it’s something we strive to build into every truck and van we produce.”

(FCA’s Ram brand building second edition of “Built to Serve” pickups.) 

The newest Built to Serve Edition is designed to honor the Air Force.

The latest truck debuts Sept. 18, which is the 73th anniversary of the U.S. Air Force. The last model featured a nautical-inspired theme with both Ceramic Gray and Patriot Blue exterior colors offered along with a black interior with Light Ambassador Blue accent stitching and came out on June 14, which is Flag Day in the U.S. The first offering came out on Veterans Day last November.

The trucks are built at the automaker’s Sterling Heights (Michigan) Assembly Plant, and they are expected to come out every three months now.

Building the trucks at SHAP is in line with the sentiment behind the trucks, it’s a former military plant that once produced missiles. The plant, which opened in 1953, produced Redstone and Jupiter missiles as part of Chrysler’s missile division until the 1970s. It was sold, but then Chrysler acquired the facility in 1983 and began building a variety of vehicles there since that time, including the recent addition of the Ram 1500.

Each of the five color schemes are designed to honor a branch of the U.S. military (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard). The first model came out last November; however, each new edition will come out every three months going forward.

The Built to Serve Edition trucks come with “Built to Serve”-embroidered Velcro panels on each front seat.

(Forget thosse high-line sedans, Ram 1500 named “luxury car of the year.”)

The “Built to Serve Edition” Ram trucks will be offered in the following colors and limited numbers:

  • Gator (1,000 units) and Diamond Black (1,000)
  • Ceramic Gray (1,000) and Patriot Blue (1,000)
  • Anvil (1,000) and Billet Silver (1,000)
  • Tank (1,000) and Flame Red (1,000)
  • Spitfire (500) and Bright White (500)

The trucks also get some special, unique interior and exterior features, including a United States flag and “Built to Serve” decal on each of the rear quarter panels and 20-inch Technical Gray aluminum wheels and body-color wheel flares.

Each of the new Ram front ends gets a unique treatment consisting of an all-black grille and surround, black bumpers and black-bezel premium lighting. Complementing the look are black badges, black wheel-to-wheel side steps and dual four-inch black exhaust tips. On the inside, the trucks feature corresponding color stitching: Light Frost, Light Ambassador Blue, Light Diesel Gray, Core Green or Orange.

The new Ram 1500 Built to Serve Edition with aeronautical-inspired interior features, like the U.S. flag.

These new Ram models are also ready to display their owner’s military pride with “Built to Serve”-embroidered Velcro panels on each front seat and additional Velcro panels on each front seat inboard shoulder panel. Buyers can apply their own patches – regimental, flags, name tapes or slogans – to personalize their “Built to Serve Edition.”

(Ram showing off new versions of 1500 and heavy duty trucks.)

Like the people they honor, Ram has these trucks ready to face tough situations with: all-terrain tires; electronic-locking rear axle; hill-descent control; front suspension skid plate; steering gear skid plate; fuel tank skid plate; transfer case skid plate; tow hooks; and heavy-duty off-road-calibrated front and rear shock absorbers.

Don't miss out!
Get Email Alerts
Receive the latest Automotive News in your Inbox!
Invalid email address
Send me emails
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.